It’s that time of year again–the Red Hat Summit and JBoss World are fast approaching, and with them, Red Hat’s annual awards ceremonies. But first, we need nominations. And for that we appeal to our customers, readers, partners, and friends. That’s you.

Nominate that innovative business you worked with, or the admin who always has the right answers. Winners will receive free admission to Red Hat Summit and JBoss World, participation in exclusive events, and the admiration and accolades of their peers. Here’s the details:

2009 Innovation Awards – Nominations Open

Nominations are now open for the 2009 Innovation Awards, to be presented at this year’s co-located Red Hat Summit and JBoss World on September 1-4, 2009 in Chicago.

Innovation Awards were created to recognize technological achievements that demonstrate creative thinking and determined problem solving. The program includes the Extensive Ecosystem category which was created to recognize customers who are working with Red Hat and JBoss partners to create innovative architectures based on open source solutions. Please submit nominations by the deadline of May 31, 2009.

Questions? Contact the Red Hat Customer Reference Team at

Innovation Award Categories: Five categories will each recognize two winning projects, one from Red Hat and one from JBoss. The Outstanding Open Source Architecture category will recognize one winner who is deploying both Red Hat and JBoss solutions. From these category winners, a Red Hat Innovator of the Year
and a JBoss Innovator of the Year will be selected by the community through online voting and announced at the awards ceremony.

Managed Excellence

Recognition of the impressive use of management tools, including Red Hat Network® and JBoss Operations Network®, to drive down total cost of ownership (TCO) and increase the return on investment (ROI).

Optimized Systems

Recognition of striking performance, scalability, and/or usability enhancements delivered with open source solutions.

Superior Alternatives

Recognition of the most successful migration from proprietary solutions to open source alternatives.

Extensive Ecosystem

Recognition of the use of the growing Red Hat and JBoss partner ecosystem to create innovative architectures based on open source solutions.

Carved Out Costs

Recognition of customers who have leveraged open source solutions to significantly cut costs and extract added value from existing systems.

Outstanding Open Source Architecture

Recognition of the use of Red Hat, JBoss, and partner offerings to create innovative architectures based on open source solutions.

>> Nominate an innovator now.

2009 RHCE of the Year

Red Hat Certified Engineer of the Year contest is a celebration of the hard work, expertise, and ingenuity of some of the world’s premier IT professionals.

If you are an RHCE®, now is your chance to wow us with why you should be selected as an 2009 RHCE of the Year. Maybe you’re administering 100 different boxes. Maybe you’ve solved an insurmountable problem. No doubt, you’ve got talent. Now is the time to prove it.

The five winners will get a free trip to the 2009 Summit in Chicago, September 1-4, 2009. The award includes three nights of accommodations, round-trip coach airfare, conference registration cost, and Chicago-style entertainment each night. The winners will also receive a 2009 RHCE of the Year plaque and will be honored at the RHCE Summit Reception.

>> Enter the RHCE of the Year contest

The deadline for entries is July 13, 2009. See terms and conditions for complete contest details.

Want to read essays from past winners? Check out our RHCE Success Stories.

Not current? In celebration of 10 years of RHCE, see our special promotion for RHCEs to help you update your skills.

More Red Hat Summit and JBoss World information